• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

USCG OCS... officer oppurtunities?

Status
Not open for further replies.

helmet91

contemplating applying again...
Does anyone know anything about being an officer in the Coast Guard? I realize this is a Navy site and we probably look down on the Coasties... BUT, I'm considering looking into their OCS program.

At this point I've been waiting for six weeks for my Navy OCS package to go through. I haven't heard anything so far and I have no clue how much longer I'll be waiting. I'm currently in the Naval Reserve (undesignated Airman/E-3) and I graduated from college a year ago. I'm working a temp job at a law office right now and I'm still living at home ( :eek: ) ). I want to serve my country in a greater capacity and the USNR is driving me nuts- all I do is attend stupid classes on drill weekends and do nothing of value. I put in a conversion package for IS, but there's no telling how long that could take to go through.

Last night I was tooling around on the 'net and I ran across the CG's site. I was looking at their requirements for OCS and they seem pretty lenient. How competitive of a program is it?

OCS is a rigorous seventeen-week course of instruction which prepares candidates to serve effectively as officers in the United States Coast Guard. In addition to indoctrinating students into a military life-style, OCS also provides a wide range of highly technical information necessary for performing the duties of a Coast Guard officer.