• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Revised Afghan ROE...

picklesuit

Dirty Hinge
pilot
Contributor
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090622/ap_on_re_as/as_afghanistan

While I am not one to normally disagree with my CoC...doesn't this send a bad message?

I read this as "You shoot at us, we shoot back...you run to Mr. and Mrs. Achmed's suburbia palace and continue to shoot back, we back slowly away..."

I am no expert on tactics...in fact I don't know my ass from a hole in the ground when it comes to killing bad people on the ground. But this seems like the newspapers are driving military tactics...since when did the NYT dictate who we could and couldn't shoot at?!

Pickle

FWIW I think this would be a great trick to get a whole herd of Taliban baddies to hide in a split-level duplex on the outskirts of Achbadistan, only to have us knock the house in on their heads and go "Ha-Ha-Ha, we fooled you!"

exhelodrvr

pilot
Claims of civilian casualties, whether or not they are the fault of the Taliban, make it harder for the local political leadership, which in turn makes it more difficult for us. Of course, so does not killing Taliban. This is a "damned if you do, damned if you don't" scenario; I don't think it is driven by the NYT coverage, though.

Jim123

DD-214 in hand and I'm gonna party like it's 1998
pilot