• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

NEWS Not again... spy plane unplanned landing in adversary nation

Pags

N/A
pilot
I'm no expert on Open Skies but the flights are flown by Defense Threat Reduction Agency (DTRA) to monitor treaty compliance (think nuclear disarmament). The flights aren't "spy" flights but known and agreed to overflights per signed international treaties.

Brett327

None
Super Moderator
Contributor
I predict this will be a non-event. It's Open Skies - what can/can not be done by the aircraft is highly regulated/scrutinized per the treaty language. Both sides know exactly what kind of collection gear is aboard and the resolution of the sensors permitted is already generations behind current technology. Open skies is kind of a proforma relic of the Cold War.

Uncle Fester

Robot Pimp
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
OST aircraft aren't 'spy planes'. And they stage out of the other nation's airfields anyway - usually military fields. It's the airplane equivalent of treaty compliance ground verification inspection teams.

Put it another way: this is the equivalent of a ICBM inspection team's truck breaking down. All parties know when OST jets are flying, what's aboard, and when they're flying.

NB: I'm pretty sure according to journalists there are only three kinds of military aircraft anyway...'fighter jets', 'cargo planes' and 'spy planes'.

nittany03

Recovering NFO. Herder of Programmers.
pilot
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
NB: I'm pretty sure according to journalists there are only three kinds of military aircraft anyway...'fighter jets', 'cargo planes' and 'spy planes'.
And all of the aircrew are "pilots."

Flash

SEVAL/ECMO
None
Super Moderator
Contributor