• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

USN Need Dual Processing Advice. Any info about AVO? NFO shipdates & requirements?

Enigma

Hi,

I'm currently a college senior, expected to graduate this May. I started talking to an officer recruiter to start the process and took the OAR/ASTB for the first time. For Officer jobs, I'm mainly interested in being an NFO. I don't think I meet the eyesight/height requirement for Aviator.

Some stats about me:
25 years old
GPA ~2.4
My major is in Applied Math with a minor in Computer Science & Engineering
Oar 59, ASTB 7/7/8.
Working (~25hr/week) part-time jobs while a full-time student

Despite my very poor GPA, my Officer recruiter, an LT, thinks I could still have a shot because he said I did really well on the ASTB and that there technically isn't a GPA requirement. Another Officer recruiter, an E-8 at the same office, said that I should have at least a 2.5 GPA and there are no waivers for it, even if I had good test scores. He also said the wait time if I were selected could take 1-2 years after I'm selected before I ship off to OCS because the pipeline is so backed up right now. He said I should consider looking at other opportunities the Navy has to offer. Honestly, I just want to join the Navy the before I get too old. Regarding my bad GPA and late age, I had family responsibilities that I really don't want to get into on the internet. I've been looking at the new AVO program for flying drones and CTI/CTN. CTI seems interesting because it looks like I could do Intel and Aircrew things. I'm thinking of Dual Processing. No, I haven't talked to an enlisted recruiter yet.

As an aside, I think the Senior Chief is the LT's supervisor. How is that possible?

My questions: