• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Navy diver

rcaracci91

I am 31 I was told by a retired navy guy that getting an age waiver for a diver is a shot in the dark so it’s best to go officer first, I have a bachelor’s. Is this true and if so going navy officer would be great route with a potential of still being a diver?

JoeBob1788

I am 31 I was told by a retired navy guy that getting an age waiver for a diver is a shot in the dark so it’s best to go officer first, I have a bachelor’s. Is this true and if so going navy officer would be great route with a potential of still being a diver?
No. Divers don’t have officers. Usually EOD officers command divers.

Talk to a recruiter. If you’re a physical stud crushing the PST, an age waiver shouldn’t be an issue. If you’re not a physical stud, you wouldn’t make it anyway.

AllAmerican75

FUBIJAR
None
Contributor
No. Divers don’t have officers. Usually EOD officers command divers.

Talk to a recruiter. If you’re a physical stud crushing the PST, an age waiver shouldn’t be an issue. If you’re not a physical stud, you wouldn’t make it anyway.
To add to this, the only officer communities with billets at dive school are Explosive Ordnance Disposal, Civil Engineering Corps, and Engineering Duty Officers. You need to be a physical stud as you will be spending a lot of time running with the young bucks fresh out of boot camp or the Academy. It's an incredibly physical program.

To put this in perspective, most EDO divers attend dive school around your age and we have a high failure rate due to our age and the fact that many of us are just not the PT stud type. Dive school in your 30s is going to be rough.

FormerRecruitingGuru

Making Recruiting Great Again