• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Is it just me, or are the PRT standards a little imbalanced?

CaptainRon

pilot
Contributor
http://www.navy-prt.com/malestandard.html

I've been working out hard since I graduated school and I'm already getting close to maxing out the curlups (even with much of my gut still hanging around from college), but I am nowhere even close to maxing out the running or the pushups.

I feel like I've heard other people voice similar opinions. Is this happening to other people? The curlups standards just seem too easy compared to the other ones.

bunk22

Super *********
pilot
Super Moderator
It's because you are weak :) In reality, baring injuries, the PRT seems pretty fair.

usmarinemike

Solidly part of the 42%.
pilot
Contributor
It's that way on this side, too. Just take the curlups as easy money and concentrate on the hard stuff. You know, like sit and reach.

BackOrdered

Contributor
You have to change up your methods to address your weaknesses in order to improve the run. I saw that I could run all day long, just not very fast; so, I've been experimenting with a weighted vest to increase my speed. With it on, my run was a minute slower; without it, I ran a minute faster. Also, I took sprinting more seriously and started all my laps with a strong sprint and another midway through my laps (with the vest on). Long story short, when it came time for my annual PFT and I darted off at the start like a bat out of hell and was about 2 KMs ahead of the rest of the command for most of the run.

For push ups I just weight lift, but lately, I don't have that kind of time.

insanebikerboy

Internet killed the television star
pilot
None
Contributor