• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

grad student with flight age/medical questions...

Status
Not open for further replies.

funk_munch

I'm currently a grad school student at the University of Michigan. I have 3 bachelor's degrees in engineering and am going for a master's in electrical engineering right now. I'm 25 right now but I won't be done until I'm 26. I'm seriously thinking about becoming a marine/naval aviatior. Can somebody please tell me if whether or not I can get a slot at flight school (either service) if I'm commisioned after I'm 26? Also, I've heard something about dental work requirements for the flight school physical. I have 3 crowns and numerous filings - do I have a chance?

any help would be greatly appreciated...

EODDave

The pastures are greener!
pilot
Super Moderator
You need to get out of school. 3 BA's and working on an MA. Talk about over achiever syndrom. Age should not be a problem nor your dental concerns. You need to start the application process now. It takes a while to complete. You can read throughout this forum on the process of applying and getting helpful info on the ASTB test. Flight slots are hard to come by so do your best on the ASTB. Your college will be a big help if you have a good GPA. Anyway, good luck and Fly Navy.

Dave

hey funk, I'm going to be a freshman in college next year and I would like to go for an engineering degree. I was thinking about either Biomed or Civil because aero/mech frightens me. Any advice? Also, if I stay on top of things, about how many hours of studying can I expect?

Thanks

funk_munch

American_Ace said: