• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Fixed Wing vs. Helos

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mahler

All of my education (aerospace engineering) and flying time has concentrated solely on the fixed wing world. It wasn't until recently that I was introduced to these amazing things we call helicopters. I got a couple of books about them, and this coming up semester I'm taking an engineering class on how they fly. I have to say, from an engineer’s standpoint they are much more interesting to study than airplanes.

I finally went on a few lessons out at the airport and being a fixed wing pilot, I can definitely tell you helos are much harder to fly. It makes me wonder why Hornet drivers are known to be the elite and helo slots are considered the bottom of the barrel. After all, flying at 150 knots at tree top level in the darkest of night takes a whole lot of skill - let alone nerves of steel. Don't get me wrong; I'm not trying to downplay fighter pilots at all. I know it is an extremely difficult and exhilarating community. I'm just trying to figure out why helos aren't surrounded with the same amount of prestige. Anyone else have an opinion here?

James

Frumby

Super *********
pilot
Super Moderator