• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

F-15k?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Broadsword2004

http://www.military.com/soldiertech/0,14632,Soldiertech_F15K,,00.html

Maybe this is old news, but I am wondering, why would they give a fighter with this kind of technology to a foreign country? I thought all export versions of aircraft like F-15s and F-16s and so forth were "stripped-down" versions of what the U.S. forces utilized, not more advanced versions. I am guessing they did this because the F/A-22 and F-35 JSF are coming into service and to help in case N.K. stirs trouble maybe, but, anyways, I am no expert so that is why I am asking.

mmx1

Woof!
pilot
Contributor
It's only more advanced in that the ones in our inventory were built a decade ago, and we aren't buying anymore. For example, the last US purchases of the F-16 were block 50/52 - we opted not to purchase the 60/62 Block, which the UAE is buying.

We have F-22's rolling off the assembly line, so it's hardly more advanced than what's currently in production.

Besides, South Korea's a fairly stable ally, and we want our allies to have the good stuff.

Brett327

None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Broadsword2004 said:
http://www.military.com/soldiertech/0,14632,Soldiertech_F15K,,00.html

Maybe this is old news, but I am wondering, why would they give a fighter with this kind of technology to a foreign country? I thought all export versions of aircraft like F-15s and F-16s and so forth were "stripped-down" versions of what the U.S. forces utilized, not more advanced versions. I am guessing they did this because the F/A-22 and F-35 JSF are coming into service and to help in case N.K. stirs trouble maybe, but, anyways, I am no expert so that is why I am asking.