• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

College Degree and School

dag27

Hi all,

I am in need of some advice. I am currently a freshmen at Embry Riddle in Az doing AF ROTC. After one semester, I figured the AF may not be for me and I was looking into becoming a Navy/MC officer. I submitted an app for the PLC, NROTC, and the Academy just to keep my options open.

I'm studying aero engineering and the program here at riddle is a top engineering education. If I were to switch out to do NROTC or PLC I'd have to transfer to the University of Az or a cheaper school since I could not afford the tuition here without the af scholarship kicking in the beginning of my sophomore year. Yes I would be giving up a good chunk of change but I'm figuring that if it helps me get into a career field that I'm preferring it'd be worth it. Especially because I'm looking to make the military a career. If I switched out of riddle I'd still be a an engineer (mechanical or stay aero) in hopes of eventually becoming a test pilot or going back for a masters.

This has been a really difficult decision for me for the past couple months. Any advice on what I should do? Is it worth it to give up a top 3 engineering school for the U of A or similar school that still has a solid program if it would let me switch services. Also, how much do they look at your undergrad education later in your career? Any info/similar experiences would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Daniel

squorch2

he will die without safety brief
pilot