• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Calling all engineers

CalPolyPilot

I am currently in my 4th year at Cal Poly Slo in the Aerospace engineering department and starting my second year in BDCP. As you can imagine my course load is very demanding and to keep a long story short, I am having a hard time keeping my grades at the required GPA. Now I hate making excuses for why my grades are dropping, but the fact of the matter is the classes that I am taking are designed so the average is a C- (obviously below the required BDCP min GPA). I don't consider myself to be anything close to a genious, but I do feel that I work very hard and know the material for each class. Even so I still seem to only "get by" in my classes. I feel that my mediocre grades can mainly attributed to the exams I face in each class.

So my question is, for anyone who has been in my position or mastered engineering exams, what kind of test taking strategies should I put into practice. Or, are there any test prep tactics that work better than others? I know its sad that I'm asking this in my 4th year of school. You think I would have figured it out by now. Thats just the thing, I thought I new how to prepare myself, then I hit the upper level classes and well now I'm here.

Anyways, I hope I can get some good feedback as becoming a Naval Officer is of utmost importance to me. To loose the scholarship and my place at OCS with only a year left of school would be heart breaking.

Regards,

David Babka

Jim123

DD-214 in hand and I'm gonna party like it's 1998
pilot
Hmmm... study habits or how to work smarter, not harder. Well here's what worked for me. Maybe you already do half this stuff anyway-