• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

BDCP questions- I'm a college student

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laxanation

I'm going to be a sophmore in college. I go to a private jesuit school, very expensive but a very good school. Does not have ROTC or any military affiliation as you can guess.
About me...I'm a mechanical engineering major. I also play a division one sport for a team that competes for a national championship every year. I have a 2.64 GPA which will go up next year (I will make sure of it). I'm a good kid, no police record or any troubles. I can get letters of rec. from many places and am a well-respected person with good morals and values. I had an engineering internship in high school and I also have one this summer. I have held and hold leadership positions in athletics and extra-curricular activities.
I want to apply to BDCP and become an Officer in the Navy most likely in the engineering community. What are my chances, when should I apply? Most of all, is it worth it?

Thanks for any replies. Similar situations would be helpful.

WFU2USN

Lax,

It can't hurt to apply. Work hard this upcoming semester to raise your GPA. You may want to go ahead and contact a Navy Officer Recruiter, and see if you can take the ASTB and see where you score. If you do really well this can offset their view of your GPA. Athletics and extracurricular activities help too! Being in Mech. Eng. will help as well!

Give it a chance and apply! At worst they say, "No." and you continue to improve your GPA and reapply.

Good luck!

Robin
IS2(SCW)

punac

Once in the program if pursuing a L.A.'s degree you must maintain a 2.7 GPA, for engineering its a 3.3 GPA.