• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

ASTB Scores

Lisa10

OKay, so I'm an NROTC student, senior, and I just got my ASTB scores back and am pretty disappointed. I got a 5 5 4 and an OAR of 56%. People are telling me that's fine because I have an outstanding high on the PRT and a 3.8 GPA, and am ranked well in my class; but I'm just not so sure. My package for flight school will be delayed anyway because I'm getting PRK on my eyes in October and have to wait to do the physical. Anyone have any thoughts on whether I should try again or ??? Thanks I really appreciate it.

nugget81

pilot
If you aren't happy with your scores and you believe that you can do better, why wouldn't you try again? You have up to 3 attempts on the ASTB. Work hard on the areas that you believe are your weakest, and when you are comfortable, go take it again. You should find that it will be easier the second time around, especially if you study hard. Take a look at the ASTB links here at AW for more help. Good Luck!

Lisa10

Thanks for the advice...the only problem with that is that they only accept the most recent scores and i'm not sure i want to chance doing worse in any area. I studied a lot for this one (if you can believe it) and thought I did alright. Which i guess I did, but I hate just doing "alright." I appreciate the input!

ea6bflyr

Working Class Bum
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Trust me you can't do worse. I used to administer the ASTB and I never saw anyone's score go down. Now that you've been exposed to the test format, just study a bit and take it again. The test format is the hardest part.....
ea6bflyr

RiceOwl06