• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Armstrong Pullups

CaseyL90

Hey

I'm aiming to get a perfect 300 on the PFT. I have been working out at the gym for the past 3 years. I can only do 9 pull ups though. Not really sure why, I work out like a maniac at the gym. I think it's because I work out with free weights, and they don't simulate actually bodyweight exercises at all. Also, I'm 6'2 and that doesn't help when you have that additional 5-6 inches of motion range compared to the average male height :)

My workout plan for the gym looks like this:
Day 1: Chest, Shoulders, Triceps
Day 2: Back, Biceps
Day 3: Legs, Abs
Day 4: Chest, Shoulders, Triceps
Day 5: Back, Biceps
Day 6: Legs, Abs
Day 7: Rest

After every workout, I am sore for 2 days following it, so I need to rest for 2 days before starting it up back again.

The Armstrong program however, you work on your pullups 5 days consecutively. I can't do very many pull ups at all when my back is sore and I heard it wasn't healthy working out your muscles when they are sore because they need rest to repair the damaged fibers.

How would I integrate the Armstrong program, with my current workout regimen? Would I have to change my workout routine? Or are there better exercises to do in the gym instead of the Armstrong routine that could help me achieve similar results?

I want to do both, but physically, I don't think that is healthy. Maybe just force myself to do it all?

usmarinemike

Solidly part of the 42%.
pilot
Contributor
I'm 6'4" and do just fine with my gangely ass arms.

Armstrong program works exclusively on principle of specificity and reps. I could do three when I shipped to boot camp so never fear.

DO A SEARCH:icon_rage

Turkleton