• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

College performance in the fleet

LetsFly

Hey all,

I'm an aero engineering student at USNA and I was wondering if my GPA upon graduation will have any effect on me in the fleet. Is it looked at (and to what degree) to get into programs like TPS/Fighter Weapons School? If they look at my transcript, do they only look at my major specific courses or core courses as well?

Thank you!

BusyBee604

St. Francis/Hugh Hefner Combo!
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor
:)
I'm an aero engineering student at USNA and I was wondering if my GPA upon graduation will have any effect on me in the fleet. Is it looked at (and to what degree) to get into programs like TPS/Fighter Weapons School?
I doubt that your BSAE from the USNA will be much of a consideration in your first fleet tour. It is to your credit that you will have graduated with a BS in a tough program/major. This could also lead to interesting jobs, such as a DivO in maintenance (AV/Weps, A/F, P/P, Line, etc.).;)

As you state, your BSAE is practically a must for selection for TPS (higher the GPA, the better), along with high performance/airmanship during your initial sea tour. The degree will be of some benefit for FWS, but here again, first tour squadron performance/airmanship (including weapons delivery skills), will be major factors in earning a FWS billet.:)
BzB

CommodoreMid

Whateva! I do what I want!
None
Super Moderator
Contributor