• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

WWII Aerial Photos

HeyJoe

Fly Navy! ...or USMC
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
I try very hard not to and I do not mean to suggest anything to the contrary. It is simply my experience that people who believe themselves to be knowledgeable on the subject (or use it as some kind of talking point) like to reduce it down to industrial simplicity and inevitability.

I'm still learning stuff on the subject. People tend to want to reduce things to their basics, but sometimes large complex endeavors define such generalizations. Yamamoto aparently knew the tremendous industrial capacity of the United States and how long it would take for the "Sleeping Giant*" to awake. His prediction to the Japanese War Cabinet was he could "run wild for six months", but gave no guarantees after that for he knew America would be mobilized and pushing back at Japan's territorial expansion. In fact, exactly six months almost to the date after Pearl Harbor, the first carrier vs carrier battle unfolded in the Coral Sea as the United States Navy challenged the Japanese invasion of Port Moresby in New Guinea.

*The Sleeping Giant quote is used in two movies about Pearl Harbor, but may be a theatrical invention in the end.

Kursk is a great example. Visions of Enemy at the Gates; seem to dominate cultural understanding of the Eastern front. I think the idea that the Russians could have bested the Germans because of tactics and not by shear numbers alone would be unusual to many people.