• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Who has the final say about medical?

Status
Not open for further replies.

fraz76

Dear Airwarriors
I am a NavVet that got PRO-REC for NFO. Currently waiting for a date to go down to MEPS. But they are saying they will not see me because of my 10% disablity rating from the VA. I know that they are the convining authority for all enlisted personnal.

And I am also hearing that BUMED is the over authority for Officer Canidates. I am thinking that if I get a flight physical wouldn't they (flight surgeons)have the over authority of yeah or nay. MEPS is messing with my life and career. Need some advise. Would like to hear from others?

WINK if you are out, pls let me know what you think.

I am also heading down to see my Officer Recruiter tommorrow to see what else is going on and what I can do about this.

Thanks Alot,
Fraz76 (Former RM2)

AZSkegee

Hey RM2, What is an RM?, anyway during my civilian side my the OCS process I went Bethesda, and was looked at my Naval Doctors. BUMED is the convening authority on these matters and their instructions are followed by the other controlling custodians, lol brown shoe navy terms. Try to see if in your area there is a way to go to a DOD medical activity and recieve your physical? good luck
Funny Story - I was medically cleared in 01 as fit for duty as a civilian but when I enlisted and was being processed at MEPS Dr. Brown said I wasnt cleared for enlisted duty, he had a problem with a navy doctor's endorsement. Go figure civilian contractors

mbeaser