• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

What happens after NPQ?

heloJO

Hello all. I am a winged helo pilot in the FRS who just got NPQd. I have been offered the chance at getting a waiver for service group 3 with the ability to become PIC revoked. Basically, I would be able to do my first tour and that would be it for my flying career since I wouldn't be able to move past 2P. At this point, I feel like I have an easy decision that I just don't want to make (refusing the waiver). As much as I love flying, I also want to be able to have a career in the Navy.

This leads me to my title question, what happens after being found NPQ? I know I will be redesignated, but how does that process work? Is it different from the lat transfer/redes boards held every year? Also, what are my chances of staying under the PERS43 umbrella? After putting in 3 years to aviation, I want to at least be able to apply some of what I've learned in my next job. I've been doing some research on AMDO and thinking that seems like a good option/fit for my background.

Any and all thoughts/advice is greatly appreciated.

TimeBomb

Noise, vibration and harshness
heloJO,
Without knowing the specifics of your situation, you may consider requesting a Special Board of Flight Surgeons (SBFS). See MANMED 15-81 for details. This represents an ability to take your case to a "higher court", which can be especially useful for complex cases, or cases where there are limited data for making a recommendation. Requesting a SBFS doesn't guarantee you'll get your day at NAMI, but there might be an opportunity to get a second look if you want to continue in fleet aviation.
R/

heloJO

heloJO,