• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

What do I do next?

jramire1

Hi everyone, I'm new to this site and am thankful for all the information.

I am a recent college graduate with a 3.6 GPA in Political Science. I am interested in becoming an Officer in the Navy. Here's what I've done so far:
1. Did as much research as I could on the different careers.
2. Filled out the information on the Navy site, after which someone from Tennessee called me and asked me qualifying questions(I'm from SoCal). Once he said I passed he gave me the number to a local officer recruiter whose number was disconnected.
3. I called my local enlistee recruiter who gave me the number of a Naval Officer Recruiting Station, where the LT. I talked to asked me more qualifying questions and told me I qualify for SWO, Intel, Public Relations, and Aviation.
4. He told me I need to take the ASTB and sent me links of places to take the test.

Okay, now that that's all out of the way, I have a couple questions. First, is this a normal progression of things? Where do I take the ASTB and who do I contact when i feel I'm ready for it? Last, when do I start putting my application together? The letters of rec, mission statement, etc; are all things I'd like to start collecting, but should I talk to the Lt. at NORS before I start doing this?

Any other advice on this process would be appreciated. Thanks again.

gstapes12

BDCP FS Pilot
Here's my 2 cents coming from someone who's applying now...