• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

USN Wanting to Join Navy Reserves, Wanting to Know What Rates Are My Options

Esim1315

Hello all,

I'm new here and am wanting some advice. I'm a current USAF civ and I have a BS in Electrical Engineering. I've looked into joining for some time but am unsure what rates would be good for me. I want to research them prior to talking to a recruiter so I know what I want instead of being convinced what I want. I've looked into CWO and EDO but I've heard I'm not competitive enough for EDO. What are some of the other rates that would be good for a EE like me?

Esim1315

What type of work do you do for the USAF?
I am an engineer for the F-16 supply chain group. I essentially am the engineering authority for the flight control systems and core avionics for the aircraft. I provide engineering support for our program office and approve/disapprove contractors

bubblehead

Registered Member
Contributor
I am an engineer for the F-16 supply chain group. I essentially am the engineering authority for the flight control systems and core avionics for the aircraft. I provide engineering support for our program office and approve/disapprove contractors
Who told you that you were not competitive for EDO?

Pags

N/A
pilot
I'd look into getting commissioned. Rates are for enlisted and you'd be doing far different work than your day job.

Specifically I'd look at direct commission as an AEDO.

Esim1315

Who told you that you were not competitive for EDO?
I was on r/newtothenavy and a user there said that if I didn’t have a masters (which I currently don’t) that I was uncompetitive for that rate. I had a 3.48 gpa for my undergrad and a graduate degree is on the horizon for me but not for a few years.