• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Want to be Naval Officer

Status
Not open for further replies.

spidie

Applying for CEC, USMC
I am an environmenatl engineer, graduated with my B.S. degree last January along with my E.I.T. certificate. I am currently attending Drexel University for my M.S. My bachelors degree GPA was not great but am hoping that the Navy will look at my M.S. program GPA more than the B.S. By way of physical fittness I am slightly above average but just learned how to swim about 3 months ago. I can swim freestyle 500 yds in about 18 minutes I practice everyday to get better, I mention this because the officer recruiter that I am speaking and working with told me that I need to be able to swim 500 yds in 11:00 min or less. Not as a requirment for the PRT but rather as an evaluation test before attending OCS.
I am interested but less enthusiastically interested in CEC now that I found out that they do not ever go to sea. Do you know if there are any jobs other than nuclear engineer aboard ship. Also my vision (distance) is poor I keep hearing LASEK, or PKR sorry if I spelled any of them wrong but what are they and with poor vision and an asthigmatism should I even think of Pilot NFO or SEAL as far a combat services go. Other than the distance and asthigmatism my depth perseption and peripheral vision is excellent, what are the stats needed for these fields?
Also does anyone know what Crypto or Intel officers do, I absolutely hate (to the point of having nightmares) cubicals. Are there any careers that would place me in a dreaded cubical?
As you can see I have many broad questions any contact information or sites or articles, or even just answers that anyone has would be helpful and greatly appreciated.