• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Want in - into the Reserves as an Officer but maybe enlist first.

FlaFFguy

Hey guys and gals. I am new here. I tried reading old threads on here before posting one up. There is one on this subject in the Navy Reserve forum but it is an old thread and very short.
Here we go, I am a 36 year old. I have a few years to go to enlist before I reach the age limit. I have a bachelor's degree in communications from an accredited university. Not exactly an engineering, aerospace, or business administration degree the officer recruiters are seeking.
I know I can go for Public Affairs but not exactly want to do it.
To make my bio more interesting, I don't even work in my field of study. I am firefighter/EMT and been doing it for more than 4 years.
There aren't any Reserve Officer jobs related to my civilian job. I do hope the skills I have are transferable in those jobs. I don't have leadership or supervisory experience in the fire service. I do mentor rookie firefighters when they come to my fire station, but it isn't official.
My GPA isn't stellar either. I don't want to go back to school for a Master's degree. My conclusion is that I am not competitive enough. So, I am eyeing on enlisting into the reserves and go officer when I am in later on. Seabees interest me if I enlist. I would like y'alls input. I know many will suggest that I talk to a recruiter, but I don't want to waste my time if I get the runaround.

P3 F0

None