• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

USNA vs. OCS, more USNA Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

heerothewizard

I'm interested in becoming a NA *most poeple on this board probably are
icon_smile.gif
And I was wondering, which is the better path to do so, USNA or OCS? Also, what sports/extra curriculars look good on a Naval Academy application?

Is doing Sea Scouts/Cadets important?

Thanks
^_^

GO NAVY BEAT ARMY!!

GO NAVY! BEAT ARMY!

Phoenix155

Well, if I can give a small thing I heard from a current Naval Aviator...

I was going home for Thanksgiving the past fall and was wearing my uniform (SDB's) so I could try and do some recruiting at my old High School (I'm in my first year of NROTC at Marquette University in Milwaukee). A guy stopped me, and asked if I was a Plebe. "No, I'm in my 1st Year at Marquette University," I replied, and we talked for a few minutes. It turns out he went to a local H.S. in my hometown and he attended the Academy. Upon asking him how he liked it, he answered, "I F--ing hated that place!"

Remember, the Academy is a good place to be from, not a good place to be at.

Personally, I would recommend going through ROTC (or even OCS if you can). It's a good program and let's you be more self-sufficient than those who are at the Academy, who are being told what to do 24/7, 365. OCS is worth it because it gives you a "Boot-Camp" like atmosphere that (so I'm told) gives you better respect with the enlisted under you.

Please keep in mind I'm only in my first year, but this is what I have been able to take away from the program and my friends here thus far. Take it as you will.

--Alexis

P.S. Apply to Marquette University! Email me if you are interested! ;)