• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

USMC PLC NFO vs Aviator

bdhallsey

Hey guys, I'm a student at the University of Illinois and recently joined the USMC PLC program. My ASTB is a 9/9/9 and I'm kinda at a cross roads here, my eyes are correctable to 20/20 with contacts but are outside of the waiver range for pilots, but I do quailfy for NFO. The question that is haunting me is should I go NFO or get PRK lazer surgery and go pilot? It seems like the training is similar for both, I'm definately most interested in F-18s, but I'm killing myself over whether the risks of the surgery are worth the chance at pilot. Are there pros to being an F-18 NFO over pilot and if later on down the road I get the surgery would it be possible for me to get my pilots wings?

Brian

TheBubba

I Can Has Leadership!
None
bdhallsey said:
Hey guys, I'm a student at the University of Illinois and recently joined the USMC PLC program. My ASTB is a 9.99 and I'm kinda at a cross roads here, my eyes are correctable to 20/20 with contacts but are outside of the 20/400 waiver range for pilots, but I do quailfy for NFO. The question that is haunting me is should I go NFO or get PRK lazer surgery and go pilot? It seems like the training is similar for both, I'm definately most interested in F-18s, but I'm killing myself over whether the risks of the surgery are worth the chance at pilot. Are there pros to being an F-18 NFO over pilot and if later on down the road I get the surgery would it be possible for me to get my pilots wings?

Brian

Brian: