• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

USCG Experimental Test Pilot?

bmather9

I'm currently an Army H-60 pilot with the National Guard, and work on the civilian side as an Experimental Flight Test Engineer for a biz jet manufacturer. My long-term goal is to be an experimental test pilot, but from my current position in the National Guard, I don't see a way to get there. I don't believe the National Guard sends people to test pilot school.

Additionally, 12 month deployments with the Army don't go so easily with a family, so I'm interested in the DCA program to continue my aviation career. Is there any path in USCG aviation that could lead me to test pilot school or otherwise becoming an experimental test pilot?

xj220

Will fly for food.
pilot
Contributor
I believe USNTPS has taken USCG pilots but I think it's on a very rare basis. Your best bet would be to go active duty Army and apply via that way (you would go to USNTPS) or go Navy helos and apply that way. I'm not saying it's impossible, but it's a long pathway to get there. Luckily, with your experience it should help out a lot.

bmather9

I believe USNTPS has taken USCG pilots but I think it's on a very rare basis. Your best bet would be to go active duty Army and apply via that way (you would go to USNTPS) or go Navy helos and apply that way. I'm not saying it's impossible, but it's a long pathway to get there. Luckily, with your experience it should help out a lot.

I realize that going Active Army may be my best bet, but it's not likely to work out for my family (12 month deployments etc.). I'm also looking into going Navy, but that seems less likely than getting into the DCA program.