• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

To all Marine pilots or SNAs

Status
Not open for further replies.

steviey

To all Marine pilots or SNAs that have completed intermediate level flight training.
I was wondering when you find out what you will be flying (jet, prop, or helo). Is it after API in Pensacola? Or is it after Primary? Also, exactly how competitive is it to get jets? If I studied my @#$! off would I have a good shot, or is it only for the truly gifted? Thanks for you info in advance.
Sgt. Stephenson USMC/ IRR

DBLang

PLC Candidate
I'm not a SNA but...

You'll choose which pipelines you would like to go into most during primary. Then depending on your NSS (how you compare to the rest of the SNA's graduating that week) and the needs of the Navy or Marines as it were, you'll be selected for a certain pipeline. Sometimes a lot of people get jets a particular week, sometimes very few will. The minimum to go into the strike (jets) pipeline is a NSS score of 50 i believe, and the #1 stud in your class gets his first choice. I know some Marines have posted on here that when they went through, the only limit was yourself.

Banjo33

AV-8 Type
pilot
They had a selection last week...I think the lowest NSS that got jets was a 51. Basically, right now, if you've got better than a 50, you've got the jet slot. Not really competitive. No hercs still, I've got my fingers crossed!

Banjo33

AV-8 Type
pilot