• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Time in Regionals?

Mirage

pilot
I am a Navy Helo driver about a year out from separation and I'm weighing my options, with the airlines and CBP as the frontrunners for me. One of my main questions about regionals I can't seem to find an answer to on any forums: how long are Helo guys who do an RTP with a regional nowdays taking to get on with a major? Can anyone speak to this from experience?

I've heard people saying they guess only a year or 2, but this seems overly optimistic to me since you'll barely be a captain getting part 121 PIC time by then. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

HokiePilot

pilot
Contributor
The question you are asking doesn't really have an answer. You get to a major by having the best resume in their application pilot. Flight time is a part, but not all.

For a straight helo bubba, I think 2 years is a little ambitious to get to a legacy. You may be able to get on with a ULCC or LCC in that time frame.
Now in a few year, the majors are going to be hitting the stride of hiring. That may bring times

You may want to become a member of the Private Naval Aviator's forum. I have a whole tread on there about my experience at a regional. I've been there for a little under 2 years. I was early in the wave of helo pilots there. I haven't see any of the helo pilots around my time frame leave to go to majors yet. Some have gone to Low Cost Carriers though.

Hope that helps.

RedFive

pilot
None
Contributor
Anecdotal data from gold wingers on a different site:
-Navy helo guy (no military fixed-wing besides training) just got an interview with Allegiant at 400hrs (SIC) at PSA.
-Cobra guy hit 1,000 hours 121 sic got hired by Delta (but had 3600 hrs AH-1)