• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

study tips for the interviews

Status
Not open for further replies.

bedrock1981

For those that have been through the technical interviews, how did you prepare? I have a little over a month to study. At this point I am feeling a bit ovewhelmed with material. I graduated over a year ago with a Mechanical Engineering degree. I know we need to know calc and physics cold, but how many questions are asked specific to your major. I know it varies from major to major, but there is a lot of material to cover with an ME degree. Right now I am studying the guide and going over old notes and textbooks. Do they ask questions right out of the guide? Any advice?

Thanks

Thisguy

Pain-in-the-dick
Here's the thing that's a little unfair about being an ME:

You've got way more that you can be tested on, than say, a biology major.

For starters, you're going to be interviewed by a mechanical engineer. Second, since you've already graduated, they can ask you anything on your transcript, and you're further removed from it than the other applicants.

Each interviewer will probably ask 2 or 3 questions, some will be basic physics and calc, but I also got strength of material questions, fluids, questions about my senior design project, some Thermo, blah blah blah. I was in the same situation as you, and needless to say, I got, and bombed the 3rd interview.

Good luck.

sonshine

PLC06 Applicant
ok this may be a little off subject but... do they only quiz you on your major during your officer interviews if your major is technical?

Thisguy

Pain-in-the-dick