• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

STA-21 Pilot Option

Status
Not open for further replies.

PR1_T

Hey guys, I am a PR1 who is submitting an STA-21 Pilot Option package this cycle and need some help/advice. I am composing my personal statement, and I have a very strong one written, but i did not address the fact of becoming a pilot in it. I have no flight experience. I have worked in the aviation maintenance side of the house for my naval career and work with and around pilots every day. My degree will be in Mechanical Engineering once completed and I have an extremely good technical/mechanical aptitude. I kicked butt on the ASTB & SAT(i feel like i did, but still awaiting scores). So with that said, do you think I need to address the fact I want to be a pilot in my personal statement? I have mine more geared towards why I want a commision as an officer and how it would benefit the navy. I mention nothing about the specific field (pilot) that I want to go into. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

phrogs

You need to look at the application instruction. Here's a link to it.
https://www.sta-21.navy.mil/opnavinst1420_1a_chap8.pdf
the top paragraph on page 8 tells you about your statement and what it needs to have in it. To answer your question, Yes, you need to say something about the field you want. Good luck.

Phrogs 4 Ever!!!!

PR1_T

thanks for the help, I guess i was way off the mark on my statement. So what do you think my odds are....i have kick ass test scores, good at math, physics etc. I have not attended college in 6 years though, but i do have enough to complete the degree in less than 36 months.

PR1_T