• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

selection

Status
Not open for further replies.

kevin

i found out from my recruiter that i was professionally recommended for sna, but the classes are full and thus wouldnt be going to ocs for another 18 months or so. how significant is this professional recommendation (i dont think this guarantees me a spot)and what are my chances from here. i wanted some guidance from people in this forum because i have had a lot of previous negative experiences with recruiters. i dont mean to sound malicious because i do believe their job is very important. also, is there a difference in the number of years commitment between rotc, acadamy and ocs for flying duties? what about whether you go fighters or heavys or helos? someone recently told me there is but im not sure? thanks for any info and i think this forum is a fantastic idea.

kevin

airgreg

low bypass axial-flow turbofan with AB driver
pilot
Not sure about the "professionally recommended" stuff, but 18 months seems inaccurate for OCS. I was accepted for SNA a couple weeks ago with a November 2003 date.

As far as the commitment goes, it's currently 8 years for jets and 7 for everything else (from the day you get your gold wings). After your active duty commitment, there is a further reserve commitment but I've been told that it's up to you whether you want to train with the reserve for pay or not.

kraused

Last year the Navy changed the time commitment for pilots, which now stands at 8 years from the time you receive your wings for all aircraft (jets, helos, props). Somebody please correct me if I'm wrong.

kevin

airgreg,
when did you initially submit your application? i submitted mine around november.

airgreg