• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Questions concerning OCS and flight contracts

Dorsai007

As much as I'd like to keep this short it's going to be fairly lengthly I fear.
Here's some background info on myself. Currently I'm 29 with 10+ years time in service. I served my first 6+yrs in the Corps as a 5952 then I put in a flight packet and transferred to the Army to fly, at the time I needed 20/20 to fly for the Corps and the Army had lower requirements. I will complete my flight obligation late 2010 early 2011. I want to finish my degree and come back to the Corps to fly Cobras. Currently I'm a AH-64D Longbow Pilot in Command with over 1000 hrs of combat time, 1400 hrs of rotary time with 1200 of it in the Longbow. I'm in the 3rd month of a 15 month deployment to Iraq so I'd expect those numbers to be much higher by the end. I emailed a SSgt with the Austin OSO office and was told that regardless of my circumstances that I couldn't come back as a Pilot because I couldn't be commisioned by 27 1/2. Technically I already hold a commision as Chief Warrant 2. So my questions are:
1. Is that a real fact that I would be turned down with my current qualifications due to age?
2. Being a rated aviator already how would that fit into flight school. Would I go through a transition course for the Cobra vs the entire program?
3. Is there a higher authority than the Austin station that I can petition too for consideration?

Basically any thoughts or advice is greatly appreciated.

Semper Fi

Marty Maust

Crowbar

None
The Interservice Transfer Board message came out recently. Look at Paragraph 3.b.1, WARRANT AND RESTRICTED OFFICERS ARE NOT ELIGIBLE TO