• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Possible officer with LOTS of questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Texan

Why enemy pilots dont sleep well
OK, I'm a noob here, so give me a little while before the flames start... I am doing lots of reading now that I've found this board.

Basically, I've been interested in being an officer (and more to the point, a pilot) forever (blah blah blah...) and now that Im getting to my prime, I'm really pushing the idea. I took the test officer candidacy test (or whatever it's called) back in December last year sometime, and did really well - nines across the board except one 8.

The problem is that I cant see S***, and at the time didnt have $$$ for PRK. Well, now I do, and I'm about to go through with the PRK, but before I toss $3K towards what some people are calling a pipe dream, I thought I'd ask some questions:

1) is it worth it? - As an engineer for a large military aerospace contractor, I'm doing well, but I just dont have personal satisfaction that I believe an officer position might have. Looking for something with lots of leadership that will challenge me more than just the technical gunk in the lab.

2) Is my background a problem? I'm the first born American in the family, and I'm having some issues about having to give up my citizenships from the other countries... not so much cause I'm ever going to use them, but more so because it seems like I'm turning away from my heritage. Not to mention the fact that I'm half French and half Swiss (and 100% AMERICAN BABY!!!)