• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Personal Statement

I am struggling with the personal statement. I know its supposed to be my own but I just want to see some others. Can anyone help? It is the hardest part of the package in my opinion. Thanks

etnuclearsailor

STA 21 Nuclear OC
This is a copy of the personal statement I used on the FY05 application (I was accepted)

Dear Sir/Madam,

My name is MY NAME. I am an Electronics Technician Third Class in the United States Navy, and I’m writing with the hopes of achieving my aspiration and taking that first step to becoming a Naval officer. I joined the Navy with that sole intention. The Seaman to Admiral 21 program is specifically what I have worked towards since the first day I processed for enlistment- my chance to be a nuclear submarine commanding officer.

The submarine community is one which many of the most heroic sailors of wars past have called home; from the daring raids of Commander Fluckey in World War II to the SSBN patrols of today, submarine sailors are amongst the bravest in the fleet. I seek to lead a team of the most intelligent and qualified sailors in the Navy- the Nuclear Navy. Serving aboard submarines is difficult and demanding, but I am willing to do the work and become a leader in the fleet. My drive in any line of work has always been to excel and advance, and the Navy can benefit from having a person of such ethic in her Officer Corps.