• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

OCS Path to TPS question

I'm an eager college student majoring in math with a conflict, and it's a question my mentors at the university can't really answer. But anyway I'm a rising junior majoring in mathematics and a future goal is to be a naval aviator. I can graduate a year early, start preparing an application for OCS now. But I love math and also want to maximize my chances for TPS, so the alternative is to stay for the full 4 years and I would graduate with about 23 math classes and be a very competitive applicant for getting a PhD in Mathematics & Atmosphere-Ocean Science or in Applied Mathematics. I would try extremely hard to finish in 4-4.5 years so I have at least 9 months before I turn 27 for OCS.

The reasons I'm split between these 2 things is if you get in to OCS and don't take it you probably won't get in again, so if I apply to OCS after undergrad and get it, I don't think I will ever have the time nor the same preparation to get a PhD in my intended field, but I would probably get a masters in engineering years down the line(& I don't think I'd be as competitive right?) . At the same time applying to OCS near the age of 25-26 is pretty risky. So what I'm attempting to gain from this thread are what option is the safest and is the path of graduate school ->OCS a viable option.

I didn't see threads exactly on this topic and felt this was rather a very specific case. Thanks so much for any perspectives and answers. Yes, this is sort of a path to astronaut question too.

Flash

SEVAL/ECMO
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
...I would try extremely hard to finish in 4-4.5 years so I have at least 9 months before I turn 27 for OCS....