• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

OCS-questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

patbate

Hello All,
Nice place you got here.

I have a couple of questions about OCS that I am hoping you can help me with:
About me, I am a 32 college graduate. I have no military background and I am employed in hi-tech.
I am interested in OCS and Naval Intelligence (I know this board is for pilots, but everyone seems to be civil and knowledgeable and many of you would have experience with OCS)

My questions:

-How old was the oldest, non-military, OC in your OCS class. Did they seem to fair well with the younger students?

-What is the attrition rate of OCS and is there a quota of people that must fail the course?
In other words, if a candidate is successful in OCS can he still be dismissed just because someone must be dismissed? Or, is it possible for an entire class to pass through OCS?

I ask, not because I plan to fail, I would just hate to be "struck by lightening"- failed because someone must fail.
Thanks.

vicki

Welcome to our humble abode. All jokes about Naval intelligence being an oxymoron aside, I graduated OCS with an intell type who had her 31st birthday in OCS. Because intell isn't a line officer (it is restricted), the age limits are higher than for us pilot types.

There are lots of "older" (ie 28+) folks who go through OCS. They tend to do very well because they're responsible, mature, and really want to be there. They all had lives before they came to OCS so they gave something up to be there, rather than just graduating from college and going to OCS because they can't think of anything else to do.