• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Nugget61's PRK Process

nugget61

pilot
Hey, there are a few of these on AW already, however I feel that there can’t be enough info out there for folks looking to go under the laser – so here’s a log of my experience. I’m trying to write this from a complete beginner’s standpoint, so please overlook the explanations if they are unnecessary for you.

**Disclaimer – I’m not a doc, so take this as you may. And stuff changes over time, so this could become outdated in the future. Also note that since I have just undergone the surgery (20NOV2008); I DO NOT yet have a waiver. **

**Note: If you have questions, feel free to PM me with them, but if you can, keep them in this thread so that anyone can benefit from it. If I left something out that you want to know about, just tell me and I’ll add it in a later post**

Background Info:
I was professionally recommended (pro-rec’ed) in the Oct 08 boards, and went to medical (MEPS) afterwards. I was been tested at 20/40 distance only to find out that you can’t squint when you take the test. They passed me, but I knew that I would be not physically qualified (NPQ) when I went to get my flight physical at NAMI. The OR was trying to push me to take an naval flight officer (NFO, backseater) position, although I only applied for pilot (SNA). From what I understand, getting a lateral transfer from one position to another is really difficult, so it’s best to join the Navy with a ticket to do what you want to begin with.