• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

NFO vs AMDO Retirement

Metalbender

A question for my fellow air warriors…

Currently I am in the process of getting an OCS package together as I will graduate Embry Riddle in about three months. Assuming I am qualified(for argument’s sake), what are the civilian career opportunities for retired NFO’s vs. those of AMDO’s? I ask this because I am a prior enlisted Airframer so I have a lot of experience on the maintenance side of the house but none as aircrew. Also since I have been back out in the civilian world I have done nothing but work Depot level on 60’s, as well as build corporate aircraft here in the sunny state of Florida. As for the corporate world, I can see many opportunities in the industry for a retired AMDO. However, if I am PQ’d to fly, I’d love to do that as well considering that keeps me on the aircraft while the AMDO is behind a desk. Both are obviously critical positions, just extremely different, and personally I’d rather be on the aircraft. From my experience as a civilian in corporate aviation, opportunities for a retired NFO don't seem very plentiful unless those jobs are directly related to specific experience, whereas AMDO’s have experience in managing, budgeting, supply, and many other areas that keep a squadron/support facility alive and flying. NFO seem like a unique position in that unless you somehow get flight hours privately you'll have to start at some regional airline making pennies. It seems like a military specific job to me, but then again it could transfer to the civilian world somehow I don't know. Putting in a package for AW SAR crewman has crossed my mind many times as I'd love to fly, but from my experience I'm glad as shit I was an airframer. I