• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Newbie with some random questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

EverettChance

Hi, I'm new. I've looked over the site for the past hour, and I find a lot of things to be extremely helpful. It's also encouraging to hear from other people in the application process.

I just got my Masters degree in English Lit from NYU. I graduated with honors from both undergrad and graduate school. Being an officer the US Armed Forces is something I've wanted for a while. Back in college, I was in Army ROTC. I had the scholarship going in as a freshman and completed two years and was extremely motivated about being commissioned, but at the start of junior year, my mom got diagnosed with cancer and I dropped out of ROTC and school to help my family out (she died a year and half later). I had to take additional time off after her death to emotionally recuperate, and afterwards, I just went back to school, got my degree, went on to grad school, and have been working as an Adjunct professor at a state university in Cali. But, aspiration-wise, I've returned to where I was back in college before my mom died: I want to be an officer in the armed forces.

I just took the ASTB, but the problem was that I called the recruiter and he scheduled me to take the test three days later. I knew next to nothing about what was going to be on the test, figuring that it would be similar to the tests I've seen for the Army. I did great on the math/verbal section, but because I have no background whatsoever in mechanics and aviation/nautical science I got eaten alive; my score on those sections are horrendously bad. So I have to take it again, and I have to do much much better just to be competitive.