• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Navy OCS SWO

Michael Andrew

So I'm interested in applying for Navy OCS. I would like to become a Surface Warfare Officer. I ordered some study materials for the ASTB, and I plan on taking the test sometime next month. My first concern is the difficulty of this test. I'm not completely incompetent but standardized tests have always been a weakness of mine. Secondly, how competitive is acceptance for this program and what does the job entail? I graduated from the University of Miami last month where I majored in Exercise Physiology and Philosophy (random I know, but I majored in what I enjoyed). My GPA was a 3.1 overall. My biggest concerns while applying are my ASTB score and my tattoo's, which I discussed in the tattoo thread. My recruiter told me that I would probably need to score a 50 on my ASTB. How difficult is this to achieve? Does having a degree, and a good GPA from a prestigious University mean more than an average, or below average ASTB score? Any feedback would be great!

LadyT

I think the difficulty of the test is subjective. I consider myself relatively smart, but I still studied for the ASTB (and am glad I did) and I would suggest you do the same...especially if you struggle with standardized testing. If nothing else, do some practice questions so that you can find your strengths and weaknesses. There is plenty of gouge about the ASTB.