• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

NAVAL OFFICER TO CIVILIAN LIFE

wizkid320

As a current college student I want to go through OCS and get out in 4 or 5 years. Is there a large market for good paying civilian jobs if I do SWO? I want to get into psychology or business later on in my life , what communities or jobs would be good to do in the navy?

Sam I am

Average looking, not a farmer.
pilot
Contributor
I understand wanting to plan ahead, but don't sell the Navy short, you might just love it. Also, be very careful to guard your intentions if your Navy career goal is a quick turn. There's nothing wrong with doing that, but my recommendation would be to keep it to yourself and "play to win". And in fairness to any employer, not just Uncle Sam, no one wants someone around or will place a person in any sort of noteworthy billet if they're already looking for the next career before he first one even started. Just my 2 cents.

Jim123

DD-214 in hand and I'm gonna party like it's 1998
pilot
A friend of mine, Marine Corps helicopter pilot, opened a Chic Fil A franchise going on five or ten years ago now. That company is particularly selective when it comes to granting new franchises. Last I heard he's doing quite well.

(Aside from any easy fast food jokes about Brad Hamilton, Lane Myer, or the drive through kid at the Springfield Krusty Burger.)

Brett327

None
Super Moderator
Contributor
A friend of mine, Marine Corps helicopter pilot, opened a Chic Fil A franchise going on five or ten years ago now. That company is particularly selective when it comes to granting new franchises. Last I heard he's doing quite well.