• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Military AND a musician? Interested in your experiences!

kejo

pilot
As my Naval career has likely reached its zenith, I'm looking to pull a project out of my back pocket that's been there for a while that may materialize in to something in the future. As a musician myself, I've had the pleasure of meeting and playing with other, often far more talented musicians in the military of all shapes and sizes. From the dude just strumming some chords in the hangar bay, to full-on bands shredding in front of some 500+ people in a fo'c'sle talent show. Visit any military history museum and there are likely several examples, maybe just in photos, of service members killing time with their favorite instrument.

At this point I'm just nailing down some ideas and scope, so I'd love to hear about your experiences!

Swanee

Self aware since 2014
pilot
Contributor
I used to play the bass in a blues rock band before joining the Marine Corps. I've jammed with a few dudes along the way, mainly just to drink beer and enjoy playing with other musicians.

I've really gotten back into it recently- though I'm still knocking the rust off after a few years of neglect. Definitely fun times!

Brett327

None
Super Moderator
Contributor
I’ve played guitar more or less my whole life. Haven’t been in a real band since my enlisted days - mostly due to the time/hours of playing out until 0300. I play at home most days, and will record stuff now and then. I did do some online collaboration with a couple of my old band mates, where we did some Rush covers like in the good old days.