• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Maybe I just need a little reassurance.

murmidov

I've been reading threads on Air Warriors off and on for the last few months, and I'm in the middle of the applications for the BDCP as we speak; I've already taken the ASTB (once).

I'm a 21 year old college student, a Junior, and my major is Linguistics.

My GPA from community college was about a 3.6, and my GPA at the University (for the 1 semester that I've completed so far) is 4.0.

I'm sure I'd have good personal and work references, and I lead a scout group (not Boy scouts but similar to it), that I myself went through and in it achieved the equivalent to the Eagle Scout Award.

My scores on the ASTB were 4, 5, & 5, and my OAR was 50, which I told was not competitive for Intel (my recruiter keeps trying to push me towards supply).

I was planning on applying for Intel, but I'd be happy with being perhaps a line officer.

The reason why I decided on Intel is that perhaps I could eventually be a Foreign Area Officer, since officers don't generally deal with languages, and languages/cultures were my initial interest.

Anyway, I'm a little discouraged. Any thoughts or positive feedback would be appreciated greatly.

FastMover

NFO
None
Study hard for the ASTB and take it again. Now that you've seen the test and know a little more about what to expect it should make studying for the second attempt a little easier. Most people's grades go up on their second attempt.

Keep those grades up and work on your ASTB and see what happens.

phrogpilot73

I don't think FAO is limited to Intel. At least not in the Marines. I know a 53 Pilot that has done two tours as an FAO.