• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Legal Age to Consume Alcohol and USNA Stories

wingsB4rings

Four fans of freedom, all day long
None
I remember the Superintendant when I graduated telling us he was only 20 when he graduated (in the 60s). That must have sucked never being 21 during their time there. I believe that in the 80s the drinking age was 18 (can any grads from that era confirm this?), but I for one would have hated spending 4 years there without being old enough to legally drink. Thank God I turned 21 half way through my youngster year...

DanMa1156

Is it baseball season yet?
pilot
Contributor
I remember the Superintendant when I graduated telling us he was only 20 when he graduated (in the 60s). That must have sucked never being 21 during their time there. I believe that in the 80s the drinking age was 18 (can any grads from that era confirm this?), but I for one would have hated spending 4 years there without being old enough to legally drink. Thank God I turned 21 half way through my youngster year...

It's true - and the Class of 1986, whose plebe year was 82-83 was the last year that plebes were allowed to drink; i.e. the last year before drinking became a "class priviledge." Not sure when Mids began being allowed to drink - as they weren't allowed/supposed to during the 50's and 60's, at least according to any writings by Jim Webb or John McCain about their time at USNA...

wingsB4rings

None
...as they weren't allowed/supposed to during the 50's and 60's, at least according to any writings by Jim Webb or John McCain about their time at USNA...

Isn't that how it is now??? Do they even still have the firstie club or free booze at service selection?