• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Kingsville or Meridian

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eagle

I'm a primary student getting close to finishing and needed some info on Meridian and Kingsville. Pro's and Con's. Why you like where you are and why. Any help would be appreciated.

Jack

I am currently in Meridian, I have about 3.5 months to go. I've been here a year last week.

Meridian Pros: It is actually not that bad of a town. There is not a very vibrant night life (understatment of great preportions), but there is a lot to do if you enjoy the outdoors, golf, mtn biking, fishing, hunting, camping, water skiing, etc... There's a respectable mall, similar to either of the two in Pensacola. Most of the major chain restuarants (outback, o'charly's, etc).

Cost of living is pretty cheap. BAH for a single 0-1 is roughly $450. You can get a nice two bedroom apt for about $600/month, so if you have a roomate you still have the extra BAH for bills before ever spending any base pay. On base housing is pretty standard-maybe a little older than the Whiting Field stuff and the BOQ is not bad at all, very comparable to Whiting.

As far as the training goes, you will probably take a different path towards your wings than I have because you will probably be on the TS program. However, if you are fortunate enought to fly the T-2 it is just that - fortunate. It is a great aircraft to learn how to fly jets in.

I have found the command climates at both VT-9 and VT-7 to be outstanding. I've never been in doubt that the number one priority of the squadron was to get me winged.