• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Is it possible to become an SWO as a marketing major?

Shelly97

Hello all,

Hope you all are well and staying safe.
I’m a 22 year old college athlete and I’m a marketing major in my junior year. I’ve been in leadership roles for athletics several times. I’m a good student with a 3.97 GPA. I’m in good shape and I have a great work ethic.
I’ve been interested in the military for years. I think it’s a great opportunity and I’m a team player so I believe I’d fit in well.
I’m interested in Navy OCS and I have been looking into the SWO route.
Is it possible for me to pursue being an SWO despite my major?
Thank you.

HSMPBR

Not a misfit toy
pilot
Your major implies that you know how to persuade and work with your fellow humans. That is far more important than knowing how to do science or engineering in 99% of military career tracks.

If you’re medically qualified, why do you choose to pursue SWO over aviation?

Shelly97

Thanks for your response.
I’ve done a fair amount of research on NFO as well as SWO. SWO appears to me management and leading while NFO seems flying and technical skills. I’m more of an ocean guy which is why I’m considering the navy.
what are your thoughts on aviation in the navy? And on SWO?

sasebobeast

Hello all,

I’m a 22 year old college athlete and I’m a marketing major in my junior year. I’ve been in leadership roles for athletics several times. I’m a good student with a 3.97 GPA. I’m in good shape and I have a great work ethic.
I’ve been interested in the military for years. I think it’s a great opportunity and I’m a team player so I believe I’d fit in well.
Thank you.