• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Interservice Transfer

GoPats2014

I’m currently in primary for the Navy. I’ve been med down for the last 6 months due to a broken ankle I suffered in a car wreck. I’ve been notified I might be attrited due to time in training. I will be a JG in October and have little interest in going to a ship and will not be eligible for applying for spec war due to not having a warfare pin. I have reached out to the Army about a possible IST and wanted to ask if anyone has had any success in doing so or knowing anyone who has. Thank you

HuggyU2

None
If you want to fly as an officer, there are many threads on military aviation sites that would advise against going Army. I have no first hand knowledge, but the feeling seems to be prevalent.

Brett327

None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Why not lobby to stay, heal, and finish where you are. Who is telling you you’re going to be attrited? What’s your prognosis for getting med up?

GoPats2014

I have reached out to the USAF as well, but was told they are not currently accepting IST’s for aviation... I would have to apply for a non-rated career and apply to UPT from there. Not that I am opposed to it by any means, but am just exploring options as that seems risky to me.

GoPats2014

I also went med down in Pensacola before API for 3 months due to an illness. So I’m sitting around 9 months total med down now, which will trigger a med board. I still have around 6-8 weeks left before I can get a waiver and get an upchit
Why not lobby to stay, heal, and finish where you are. Who is telling you you’re going to be attrited? What’s your prognosis for getting med up?

Switchstone