• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Hernia Repair

Skywalker

Student Naval Aviator
For the longest time, I've had a dime-sized ventral hernia, right in the center of my abs (in between, not where an ab is supposed to be). For my entire life, I've been able to run, squat, dead lift, and do sit ups with absolutely zero issue. Today I had a civilian physician look at it, and he said there's next to no chance it would ever grow into a source of trouble. But he also said that he knew nothing of military regulations in regard to such a thing.

The option is on the table to repair it. I've yet to go before a DoD physician, in fact I'm just beginning dialogue with my local NOR. My goal is to become a naval aviator.

Do I repair it? Do I ignore it, as I have all of these years? I have a few weeks to decide, my doctor said to just give him a call if it's determined a necessary measure.

exNavyOffRec

For the longest time, I've had a dime-sized ventral hernia, right in the center of my abs (in between, not where an ab is supposed to be). For my entire life, I've been able to run, squat, dead lift, and do sit ups with absolutely zero issue. Today I had a civilian physician look at it, and he said there's next to no chance it would ever grow into a source of trouble. But he also said that he knew nothing of military regulations in regard to such a thing.

The option is on the table to repair it. I've yet to go before a DoD physician, in fact I'm just beginning dialogue with my local NOR. My goal is to become a naval aviator.

Do I repair it? Do I ignore it, as I have all of these years? I have a few weeks to decide, my doctor said to just give him a call if it's determined a necessary measure.