• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Future Mustang hopefull

Status
Not open for further replies.

scarfacekracker

I'm currently enlisted in the Marine Corps. I'm an avionics tech on Huey's and Super Cobras. I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on picking up my commission? I have 3 years in and 2 to go. By the time I finish this contract I will have my bachelors. So what can I do now to get the ball rolling. I asked our career planner and she really didn't have much info for me. Also, is there any way that I can select my airframe?

ODO

What's goin on. I was a Sgt, working on Parris Island and am now 4 months away from getting winged to fly Hornets, Harriers, or Prowlers.

It really pisses me off
banghead_125.gif
to here that your career planner was helpless. That is just what I went through when I tried for career advancement. I guess I was hoping the CP's have gotten more proficient at their job since I last needed them.

Anyway, you need to get your hands on the Marine Corps Order(MCO) for the Marine Enlisted Commissioning and Education Program(MECEP), or the Broadened Opportunity for Officer Selection and Training(BOOST) program. I got this info from my S3 office. It may also be in your S1 Admin office. Just ask around and get your hands on this info. Once you get these publications, it will outline everything you need to do to submit a professional looking package to Head Quarters Marine Corps.

I went through BOOST because I had no prior college behind me and had never taken the SAT. BOOST is a college prep couse two school semesters long of physics, calculus, english, etc. at a naval base in Newport, RI. If you can make it through BOOST then you will be sent on to MECEP.