• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Dealing with suspected Depression at USNA

Status
Not open for further replies.

MidsGirl

My boyfriend is a midshipman at the United States Naval Academy and has been experiencing depression. Is it possible for him to seek treatment for this (namely medication), without it having a negative effect on his career?

Schnugg

It's gettin' a bit dramatic 'round here...
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
If he hides it, it will be a problem.

Have him seek help now, as in today.

Godspeed

His blood smells like cologne.
pilot
I'm going to preface this by saying I have no experience in this field whatsoever... But if I may ask....

Does he have a history of depression (prior to the academy)?

If the answer is no, then it could just be the 'suckyness' of the situation getting to him. There was a time at OCS when I was 'depressed'. I was stuck in holding company by myself (long story but everyone got shipped out of the command) for 3 weeks. I went crazy... I had zero contact with anyone, and had NOTHING to do. It was like prison, and it took a harsh toll on me mentally at the time.

The reason I say this, is because depression meds aren't the route I think you'd want to go for this... If it's his plebe year (which others can talk to you more about), he may just be hating life because of 'the suck' that is supposedly plebe year.

As an OCS guy, I can tell you that parts of military training are tough as nails, and meant to push officer candidates to their limits, and even their breaking points.. This is normal and expected. I've never seen more grown men cry in my life than in OCS.