• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Continuing Education Aboard Ship?

Ventus

Weather Guesser
pilot
Prior Service Marine Corps Meteorologist on track to apply for a Naval Aviator spot. I earned my degree before I enlisted. Long story.

My bachelors is not in a hard science field, however I am looking to either get a second bachelors or get a masters degree in something like Space/Physics, or Atmospheric Science.

Are there any opportunities for distance learning offered aboard ship while deployed? I understand you'll be pretty busy anyway with operations, however if I can take a few more physics courses or primer material, I'd be interested in pursuing that. Does anyone here have any experience with this?

taxi1

pilot
Get an MS over a second BS.

Lots of universities now offer distance learning degrees. For example, Penn State has its world campus with lots of choices.

Do you have the GI Bill to use?

AllAmerican75

FUBIJAR
None
Contributor
I'll second the MS option (It will be far more advantageous professionally), especially if the Navy/USMC will pay for it. You should have access to tuition assistance but will need to figure out connectivity problems and scheduling over different time zones. I know that there are a number of universities (Purdue has a great one, Johns Hopkins is another) who will bend over backwards to help so they get that sweet, sweet GI Bill money. The military options at sea are geared more towards helping Sailors get their general education requirements knocked out so they won't do much good for you.